The CCAO third level camogie All-Stars were awarded on Saturday night at the very first joint All-Star event with the Higher Education Colleges and the Womens Gaelic Players Association.
Hosted at the Hudson Bay hotel Athlone, fifteen camogie players from around the country were honoured for their performance from the Ashbourne, Purcell and Fr.Meachair Cup respectively.
Nine counties were represented on the night with five Cork players, two Clare, two Tipperary and Waterford, Wexford, Laois, Dublin, Kerry, and Down were all represented with one player each.
On the night WGPA chairperson Aoife Lane, CCAO third level camogie chairperson Stephen Hoary and LGFA president Marie Hickey praised the players for both their academic and sporting careers.
Ashbourne champions dominated the team with four positions of full-back Laura McMahon, two mid-fielders Ereena Fryday and Patrice Diggins and corner forward Sarah Fryday. 
Runners up UCC followed closely with three spots of wing-back Pamela Mackey, full-forward Katrina Mackey and corner forward Amy O’Connor. 
Newly promoted Mary Immaculate College were awarded with their progression with corner back to Fiona Morrisey. 
UUJ and NUIG who didn’t qualify for the weekend picked up the two wing forward positions with Chloe Morey (NUIG) and Niamh Mallon (UUJ). 2015 champions WIT gathered two awards in defence with centre-back Sarah Anne Fitzgerald and corner back Laura Tracey.
Purcell cup champions CIT came away with Amy Lee at the number 1 spot and the second wing-back position went to Linda Bolger.
The only Fr.Meachair recipient off a position went to Trinity’s Aisling Maher at number 11 to complete the 2016 CCAO All-Star team.
1.       Amy LeeCITCork 
2.       Fiona MorrisseyMary IWaterford 
3.       Laura McMahonULClare 
4.       Laura TreacyWITCork 
5.       Pamela MackeyUCCCork 
6.       Sarah Ann FitzgeraldWITLaois 
7.       Linda BolgerCITWexford 
8.       Patrice DigginsULKerry 
9.       Ereena FrydayULTipperary 
10.   Niamh MallonUUJDown 
11.   Aisling MaherTrinityDublin 
12.   Chloe MoreyNUIGClare 
13.   Amy O’ConnorUCCCork 
14.   Katrina MackeyUCCCork 
15.   Sarah FrydayULTipperary
Photo: Sarah Fryday of UL and Tipperary, courtesy of Jerome Quinn