Radiohead frontman, Thom Yorke, has announced that his other band, Atoms for Peace, will release their debut album entitled Amok.

Atoms for Peace – which also includes Red Hot Chili Peppers’ bassist, Flea, and Radiohead producer, Nigel Godrich –were formed in 2009 when Yorke needed a backing band to tour his solo album, The Eraser. The group was named in 2010, which indicated that Atoms for Peace would be an on-going project.

Amokwill be released February 22. Long-time artwork collaborator Stanley Donwood designed the album cover.

The album was recorded in LA when the band was at Flea’s house. They “got wasted, played pool and listened to [Nigerian musician] Fela Kuti all night” according to Yorke when he spoke to Rolling Stone magazine recently.

On Tuesday, Yorke wrote on “Atoms is an on-going and open-ended project, where it leads, I know not for certain…which is what is nice about it. I’m still reeling from being on tour for much of the year but we are planning to get together and play etc next year! We’re figuring all that out right now.”

The band has described Amok as a “mechanistic” record, a “compromise” between Yorke’s desire for a dance album and the pressure for him to sing on it.

The first single, ‘Default’, was released in September. The band has played at several festivals, but have yet to come to Ireland.